citytweets

citytweets is a Twitter/Mastodon retweet bot currently powering @luebbecketweets, @mindentweets, and more.

View the Project on GitHub YNedderhoff/citytweets

citytweets/citytoots

Build, Test and Publish Codacy Badge

About

citytweets is a Twitter and Mastodon repost bot currently powering my accounts listed below. In addition to my accounts, it also powers @TweetsFuerMiLB, which is not owned by me.

It reposts everything the search finds. It is intended to be used with searches like @mindentweets so that everyone can at-mention the account @mindentweets and will get a repost, thus reach every follower of @mindentweets.

The bot’s own Twitter account can be found at @citytweets_bot. The respective Mastodon account is hosted on troet.cafe/@citytoots1.

Tech

Twitter

For some calls it still relies on the deprecated Twitter API 1.1. For calls to this API it uses Twitter4J, which does not seem to be maintained anymore as well. For other calls, and especially the calls that actually search for new tweets, it already relies on the new Twitter API 2.0 to which I got early access. These calls are made without any library help. Further migration will happen over time.

Twitter API Deprecation

On February 2nd 2023, Twitter announced the deprecation of their v1.1 and v2 APIs effective February 9th.

These are the two APIs citytweets relies on to work for Twitter, so unless Twitter changes that policy, any Twitter retweet account will stop working on that date.

Mastodon

The important parts of the Mastodon API are implemented. It currently still relies on parsing its followers’ toots and reposting those in case there is a mention, instead of using the search including webfinger lookup.

Owned Accounts

Platform Handle Name Link Status
Twitter @mindentweets Minden Tweets twitter.com/mindentweets Active
Twitter @luebbecketweets LĂĽbbecke Tweets twitter.com/luebbecketweets Active
Twitter @herfordtweets Herford Tweets twitter.com/herfordtweets Active
Twitter @badoeyntweets Bad Oeynhausen Tweets twitter.com/badoeyntweets Active
Twitter @espelkamptweets Espelkamp Tweets twitter.com/espelkamptweets Active
Twitter @portatweets Porta Tweets twitter.com/portatweets Inactive, profile exists
Twitter @hilletweets Hille Tweets twitter.com/hilletweets Inactive, profile exists
Twitter @rahdentweets Rahden Tweets twitter.com/rahdentweets Inactive, profile exists
Mastodon @mindentoots Minden Toots nrw.social/@mindentoots Active
Mastodon @luebbecketoots LĂĽbbecke Toots nrw.social/@luebbecketoots Active
Mastodon @herfordtoots Herford Toots nrw.social/@herfordtoots Active
Mastodon @badoeyntoots Bad Oeynhausen Toots nrw.social/@badoeyntoots Active
Mastodon @espelkamptoots Espelkamp Toots nrw.social/@espelkamptoots Active
Mastodon @portatoots Porta Toots nrw.social/@portatoots Active
Mastodon @hilletoots Hille Toots nrw.social/@hilletoots Active
Mastodon @rahdentoots Rahden Toots nrw.social/@rahdentoots Active
Mastodon @milktoots Minden-LĂĽbbecke Toots nrw.social/@milktoots Active

fosstodon.org/@citytoots</a> but had to be moved, as fosstodon.org’s Code Of Conduct does not allow posts in German language.

  1. It was originally hosted on